gin and limelight

“love it, leave it and
love it some more…”
implores the torch-song
singer singing her song
of old world heartache
this siren of a faded bakelite age
her grip on the microphone
like she’s got a fistful of
her dirty lover’s spine
the band on their break
leave her to the spotlight
she so adores.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

5 responses to “gin and limelight

  • John W. Howell

    The title of the post reminded me of Gin and Karaoke. Neither Chuck or I could stand. . . but sing, My god could we sing.

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Yes, John, it’s a little known fact, but Chuck invented the new, exciting full contact version of Karaoke called Karate-oke, which fuses the two disciplines of singing and kick-boxing (almost seamlessly). I, however, never progressed past 3rd Dan, finding it practically impossible to hit high C, while being repeated roundhouse kicked to the larynx. I can still break roof tiles with my bare arpeggios, though, if you were wondering. Thank you for commenting, and make sure to have a Norris day. PS I’m pretty sure you owe me a hundred bucks…

You must be logged in to post a comment.

