the compromised nature of poetry as we know it

given a choice of personality graft
I might choose a more practical
nature than my own, one disposed
to working with natural woods along
with a modicum of financial nous
and first things first, I’d build both of us
a house, nothing vulgar, mind you
in the wilds, somewhere to
repair to and gather up our thoughts
while our nest egg grows and grows
owing to my “new improved” fiscal sense
or maybe I’d settle for becoming known
to all as a man who’s truly good, having chosen
a temperament of tolerance and endless
saint-like patience instead, but really the
possibilities are doing in my head so for now
you’re stuck with the poet I work at simply being.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

2 responses to “the compromised nature of poetry as we know it

You must be logged in to post a comment.

