a somewhat crazy notion

what if it is true that sanity
is merely a conspiracy of the
haves versus the have-nots
those replete with normalcy
against those cataloged as
crazy by a system in which
the nut-house always wins
the diagnosis of mental stability
unfairly weighted in favor of a
clique of like-minded fascists
committed to a ruthless regime
whereby belonging is synonymous
with the right to consign others
to the head bin of insolvency.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

3 responses to “a somewhat crazy notion

  • words4jp

    a crazy notion but not that far fetched really:)

  • dhonour

    You sound like you’ve been re-reading your Vonnegut lately. On a personal note, this hit home with me a little today as I was thinking a lot of my father, who used to often comment that if you worried you were crazy you were probably perfectly sane; because those that were truly insane had no doubts about their own sanity. We had/have a fairly loony family tree…

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Interestingly, the late movie on TV after I had finished writing this poem was Slaughter House 5. Go figure?! But I only got to watch about the first 5 minutes or so. I guess, the general gist of both Vonnegut and this poem is that everything is relative, including reality. And there’s nothing more relative than one’s own relatives (a weak pun, I know). I had a loony father also, but fortunately the insanity seems to skip a generation in my family. My great grandfather died by doing a swan dive into a gold mine. True story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

