the word wrangler’s lament

apathy argued against the
writing of this poem but
only half-heartedly before
it conceded defeat with a
sigh, “whatever, man,” it said
headed back for the couch
and so left to wrangle words
into lines on the page I enjoy
the pyrrhic victory that
is a poet’s wages.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

2 responses to “the word wrangler’s lament

  • dhonour

    love. Right up there with one of my favorite quotes about writing: The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair, which is attributed to Mary Heaton Vorse, who I have never heard of and also to Kingsley Amis, who I have heard of. Regardless. Great stuff.

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Glad you liked the poem. Haha, that truly is a great quote! It’s kind of interesting it should be attributed to two different people. Like you, I’ve only heard of Kingsley Amis before. I must admit I struggle most with writing exactly because it is a sedentary art, and I am not one for sitting still at a desk for very long. Lying on the couch with an iPhone, now that is an entirely different matter…

You must be logged in to post a comment.

