still life with nostalgia

each day brings me
one poem closer
to 50, which is fine
with me, i guess
because i’m still not
there yet, being nearer
to the other side of 40, but
what the hell? what the hell
happened to that young
man i used to be, what-
ever happened to his
wide-eyed ignorance?
oh, sure, he was a bit
of a fop and not so long
before that a total milk sop
yet i miss his passionate
intensity, his surety of purpose
(when i lack all conviction) for
although i am the poet he so
longed to be i would swap it all
to re-live his dreams and
guileless naivety.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

9 responses to “still life with nostalgia

  • MyPoetryAndVerse

    I am on your side … for a short while yet (very short).

    I once had surety of purpose (naive)
    That became momentum
    I miss the opportunity
    Inertia
    Is a difficult thing
    To overcome

    I saw a comment by an accomplished writer recently referring to young writers:
    with energy and purpose
    but lacking in material

    I don’t totally ascribe to that based on the variety of blogs that I follow, but an interesting comment none-the-less

    • Lorem Ipsum

      It is an interesting quote you have provided, “I once had surety of purpose (naive)” etc. Is it from one of your own poems? Because it is a bit like a paraphrase of the end of my poem. Please elaborate?

      • MyPoetryAndVerse

        I just wrote that on the spot as a personal reflection/reaction to your poem :). Surety of purpose is not always a good thing if it ultimately takes you in the wrong direction. I guess that’s OK if you learn from it AND don’t waste too much time.

        • Lorem Ipsum

          I think I like your improvised lines better than my poem! Certainly, the working in of Newton’s 1st Law about inertia is great. I’d definitely encourage you to extend this into a full poem. And, I agree, surety of purpose doesn’t guarantee you’re headed in the right direction…Thanks, for the input/comment!

  • dhonour

    I love this. This is what happened (and pardon me for quoting/paraphrasing myself): it is impossible to sprint through life, to burn with the desire and passion of youth. The heart will simply not stand it. So even though the flame burns a little duller now,with a little less heat and a little less intensity, it is still burning–and will be able to do so for years to come.

    • Lorem Ipsum

      I hear what you’re saying, but in the other ear I’ve still got this voice saying, “the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.”
      ― Jack Kerouac, On the Road

    • MyPoetryAndVerse

      Man, I don’t know about you dhonor. I’m nearly 50 and I have at least as much passion for life, if not more, than I had when I was 20. I’m finding passion that I missed out on for many years, the same level of energy might be useful. I’m kind of hoping that I don’t burn out too soon, not quite ready for that!

      I wish I knew then what I know now … or conversely, was less sure then that I did know it all.

      Thanks for the comments Loren. Great quote!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

