my junkyard love

20130824-221959.jpg

my junkyard love

my junkyard love has got about
an acre of rust-colored hair but
I don’t care about any of that
can’t you see it’s her staying power
after all these years that keeps me
from strayin’ too far and that keeps
me still hangin’ round the yard

yeah, I know, plenty would say they
ain’t got no time for a fixer-upper
sure enough, but she was built tough
believe me, so as to last through
the entire length of a good man’s life
so she’s still got some rubber to burn and
I’ve got such a mind as to make her motor purr

good lord, you can bet nobody’s
gonna trust their eyes when they
catch the sight of her and me
racing towards infinity waving
our goodbyes to the sweetly infinite horizon
and the look of pride I wear upon my face’ll be
all any who still doubt amongst you can recall.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

26 responses to “my junkyard love

  • ioniamartin

    Lovely accompaniment to such an interesting photo!

    On Sat, Aug 24, 2013 at 6:34 AM, Missing Zero

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Thanks, Ionia! I suspect it’s an old tractor chassis, given where I found it rusting in a field. But in my mind I prefer to imagine it as being a hot rod with a mean paint job and a whole lot of attitude…Great to see you blogging again! 🙂

  • Holistic Wayfarer

    This is one of my absolute favorite of yours. Strong first stanza. Great voice. Question about my gravatar (photo). When you open your email notification stating I liked your post, does it present itself immediately or is there a vacuous space and you see it only when you click on the word “profile”?

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Thank you, Diana. I wasn’t so sure about the poem but wanted to try using a different voice, as you say. Also, I got lucky with the photo. I had already half-written the poem, before I stumbled on this abandoned, old rusty wreck. Then I knew I had to finish writing the poem…As for your gravatar, I don’t know anything much about email notifications. I tend to do everything within WordPress itself. And the notifications I get in WordPress display your gravatar just fine. All I would say is that I also use an iPhone for much of my blogging, and with your latest poem the formatting got lost in translation! It was only when I went to your site using my computer that I got the full flowing effect you’d achieved with the words (an effect I commented on really liking to you earlier). Hope this helps! 🙂

      • Holistic Wayfarer

        Thanks so much for bothering to go to the computer. After much wrangling, I realized – from what I saw on hubby’s phone and his I.T. input, that I can’t control how phones and tablets format my poems. Aurgh!! I love how you just had to finish your poem after seeing the photo. It’s no. 1 in my book.

      • Holistic Wayfarer

        Sorry: do you read me by email or off the Reader? Did you have to tap into my blog for the rest of the post? I reset it so you see it partial. Thanks!

        • Lorem Ipsum

          I use the WordPress app on my iPhone. And I tend to visit people’s sites by clicking the blog link attached to their gravatars, which show up under the notifications tab whenever they like/comment on one of my posts. I don’t usually read any emails from WordPress delivered to my email account, because I’ve already read their content within the app on my iPhone. As to the Reader, I only use that when I’m casually looking at random blogs from within the wider WordPress blogosphere, more generally. Is this making any sense?

          • Lorem Ipsum

            Oh, and I still see the whole post at your site. It doesn’t seem to be set to partial on this end?!

          • Holistic Wayfarer

            I believe so. Thanks so much for your time. And….is your actual name Lorem? =)

            • Lorem Ipsum

              You’re welcome! It’s a funny thing, you know, because I already tried to answer your question about my name at length earlier but my reply got lost in the ether somehow? And as I tend to listen to the whispers of clouds I’ll just say I’m happy for you to call me Lorem, Diana! 🙂

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              I should’ve known Lorem from my Latin studies. Somehow I missed…As I said, you are so creative.

            • Lorem Ipsum

              Hey, Diana, speaking of creative, after all this talk about formatting etc, I got inspired to try coloring outside the lines myself, with my poem for today! I hope you don’t mind, but inspiration tends to work like that, I find. I’ve had this poem again half-finished, and then the solution came out of our dialogue about the visual aspect of layout…Latin, huh? Da mihi sis crustum Etruscum cum omnibus in eo! 🙂

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              Why would I mind? I like it. I don’t have the time or energy to look up the Latin as I want to. =(

            • Lorem Ipsum

              Well, I didn’t want you to think I was too heavily influenced by your experiments with formatting. But I hear you about time and energy – I just hope you find the requisite levels of both to submit struggling artist i and ii to some journals! The Latin quote, apparently, means “I’ll have a pizza with the lot” 🙂

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              HA HA HA good thing I didn’t waste TIME trying to look up PIZZA in the lexicon that would NOT have reported it. What’s wrong with writers’ influencing one another, anyway? =) I HAVE said on the board nothing is really new under the sun.

              Your encouragement means a great lot. Oh, I am so touched. I would not have thought to submit those. In part for the crazy busyness. We leave soon this morning for our first official weekly homeschool support class.

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              How would pizza be in the Latin lexicon — they didn’t have the food back then… ? =) On the chance you didn’t catch it, I put up the Wonderland poem. If you did see, no need to respond.

            • Lorem Ipsum

              Pizza becomes Etruscan pie…and I did read your Wonderland poem, only I wanted to respond when I had time to comment fully. The main gist being I am sorely jealous and considering quitting writing altogether, knowing how much better your poem is than mine! Oh, well, back to the old writing desk to start again…

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              OMG for real!! That one wasn’t one of my best and I have been surprised at the response. AND I would NEVER think that about your writing and mine. Goodness!! You’ve blown me away with your creativity.

            • Lorem Ipsum

              It’s your natural speech rhythms that I envy; something that another blogger commented on earlier also. For too often I resort to the banality of rhyme! In addition, you convey honesty and emotion, where I revel in ambiguity and creativity for its own sake. But still I am here to learn, and I feel in what you write I can learn much about that which I am lacking?!

            • Holistic Wayfarer

              Aww….you rob me of words. (Except for me to notice the ambiguity and creativity for its own sake…what I address in the dang finale to the series on the writing process I have been trying and trying to get out!)

              I appreciate you.

  • dhonour

    I really hope this isn’t a metaphor for your wife ;-).

    • Lorem Ipsum

      She’ll read this and be on your side, let me tell you! But seriously it is a metaphor for how obsessed guys get about guy stuff. I mean, what the hell is this passion we’ve got for machines and stuff?! It’s a bit weird really…

  • Don

    Wow! and there’s still some rubber to burn on them wheels. Loved the poem and image.

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Ah, it’s nice to dream, isn’t it, Don? Sadly, though, I think this is one vehicle that has been permanently put out to pasture, ha! Glad you liked the photo/poem combination. Cheers!

  • words4jp

    this is adorable. i am quite certain that this old tractor could tell quite a few stories – the thought of it is pretty cool if you really think about it. Who bought it, how many acres and hours were spent driving it – the story of the farm, is the owner still alive… the possibilities are endless!

    • Lorem Ipsum

      I’m glad the post got you thinking about all the endless possibilities the tractor’s history brings to mind! I must admit I took well over a dozen photos of it, I was so struck by it. Cheers!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

