An ode to the Goodyear blimp

It’s days like this
I wish I’d studied law
like I was meant to
rather than scratching
out an existence as
an anonymous poet bum

there is no retirement fund
for self-funded scribblers and
the perks of sleeping in
are wearing thin, as is
the fact no one will look me
in the eye when I say I’ve
had a good year again

and now even my own dreams
conspire against me telling
me I’ve chosen the wrong path
I should have studied law they say
but I threw it all away to study
the whispers of clouds and
the daydreams that keep
piling up inside my head
not to mention the view.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

5 responses to “An ode to the Goodyear blimp

  • dhonour

    Gorgeous. And never regret not studying law, lawyers are up their own asses almost all the time and there are far too many of them in the world. Someday, a long time from now, you will be happy that you chose to follow the whisper of clouds. Because that is what makes you so universally you.

  • Lorem Ipsum

    Hey, I’m almost exclusively up my own ass all the time. and I don’t earn anything near like what a lawyer does! Although I must say I hope you’re right about my looking back without regret, in years to come. I suppose, if there are regrets, however, I can always drown them with a few medicinal spiked lemonades, now and again. Haha. Cheers! 🙂

  • MuseWriter

    I earned degrees and still came out a writer! haha sometimes there are no choices

You must be logged in to post a comment.

