last legs

after checking
into the exit lounge
my mother
suggested
a walk outside
the day bitterly
cold, even for
late autumn
and the wind icy
unperturbed
she struggled
ever onwards
despite the
dire conditions
i plan to do
a lot more of
this, she said
now, i’m here
with her scarf
wrapped up
around her face
she looked
like a noble
peasant woman
of the steppes
which many lives
ago she had
once been
and yet although
it was never
my place
to correct her, no
not even now
i never saw
my mother
walk
again

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

2 responses to “last legs

  • Setsu

    Thought-provoking and so vivid… It reminded me of the peasant woman carrying a tower of sticks in the movie “Orlando.”

    • Lorem Ipsum

      I’m not sure if I’ve seen Orlando. Unless it’s the film starring Tilda Swinton, in which case, I have seen it, but such a long time ago I don’t recall anything much about it! I’m glad, though, you found the poem vivid. In particular, I can still remember just how very icy the wind was that day, all these years later. Thanks, for commenting!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

