Surviving the Generation Gap

this is the cry
of the parent waiting
for the parent
in absentia
to come home
and soothe the hurt
even when there is none
no mother or father left
to come home to
whatever place
that might
now be
without them.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

8 responses to “Surviving the Generation Gap

  • pixiepott

    This is great again. The one that keeps ‘haunting’ me a bit is the one you wrote about the avatars that will survive us. My favourite so far. I was actually going to write about something like that, including our silly social media updates and stupid self-portraits, our legacy for the future generations. Look forward to the next one!

    • Lorem Ipsum

      Thanks. Yes, I think we share some of the same preoccupations, obviously. Probably both of us being Gen X goes a long way towards explaining why we are mining similar themes! All this new media has emerged midway through our lives, whereas those who have come after us don’t know anything different to smartphones, avatars/selfies etc. With these shared fascinations, I also therefore look forward to reading your next post. Cheers!

      • pixiepott

        Great thanks. I feel very much part of Generation X, in fact it’s one of my posts to come, Gen X versus Gen Y. I discovered Gen Y a lot more when I had to interview them for positions within the company and thought: this is a very different group. Then seeing them at gigs and events, definitely a different breed. Same here, look forward to the next one. Take care!

  • dhonour

    It’s funny you posted this–my last piece was essentially about generation gaps, but even more odd is that on my working title list there is a piece called Mind the Generation Gap. There must be something in the Jungian collective unconscious air….

    • Lorem Ipsum

      It is weird, I grant you! But you’re not alone in thinking our posts overlap. The blogger who commented before you says much the same. It seems the word of contention in both cases is “generation”, because other than the title my poem bears very little resemblance to either of your posts?! In the poem I explore the abandoned feeling of being a parent one’s self, when both of your own parents are dead. A feeling I was personally overcome by earlier today. Having said that, perhaps there is a bit of cross-inspiration happening here, on an unconscious level. Although I didn’t read your post, until after I had already posted my own. So, yes, maybe synchronicity has something to do with it. Generations of great minds might find the answer in the distant future, I suppose!

      • dhonour

        Oh! I hope I didn’t imply that there was any cross pollination! I am slightly obsessed with the idea of the collective unconscious, and I love it when things like this happen, when we are all on some level of contained and interconnected unconscious thought.

        • Lorem Ipsum

          Well, it’s just that the cross-pollination thingy happened to me earlier in the week. Or, at least, it felt to me like it had. And the other blogger got 50+ likes and just as many comments, for the “lite version” of a post I had slaved over! But, having said that, I’m a big believer in the collective unconscious etc. In fact, it even seems to me the whole blogging phenomenon can be seen as humanity’s way of experimenting with the concept of the hive-mind somehow. The collective conscious

  • dhonour

    That’s a tough one. Sometimes people post those e-cards with occasionally witty sayings that they didn’t slave over or even think up and they get 100+ likes. Meanwhile…..back at the ranch…..I like the idea of blogging and the hive mind. You should write about it. Because if you don’t, I will. (Mostly kidding 😉 )You’ll get at least one like and comment from me. I hope a few thoughtful comments from people/fans that actually read your work make up for lack of likes. It still sucks.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

