An Ode to Less Pedestrian Times

Fallen to years of disuse
The garden path no longer
Leads to a faerie kingdom
Where dandelion wine
Is drunk from fine Elven cups
As dragonfly racers jockey
To win pure Sylvan hearts
Its stonework in ruins
The path is pushed through
With thistles and weeds
A forsaken Via Regia
Lost underfoot to
More pedestrian times.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

4 responses to “An Ode to Less Pedestrian Times

  • MyPoetryAndVerse

    I like this – reminds of lost youth – lost magic of nature. Question though, do faeries not like thistles and weeds? I’m sure that they don’t like suburban lawns.

    • Lorem Ipsum

      You raise some really interesting points! There are some unresolved contradictions in the poem, which I was not able to plumb the depths of fully. And I take your point about thistles and weeds. Thanks, for taking me to task about these oversights, on my part. It helps stop me from becoming too lazy!

      • MyPoetryAndVerse

        Hope that you didn’t take the comment as critical, it wasn’t intended that way. Like I mentioned, I saw the faerie kingdom as the imagination and idealism of youth, and the barren path as the loss of that in adulthood. It just occurred to me that people tend to associate “weeds” as not being “beautiful natural things” when nature doesn’t necessarily “feel” that way: dandelions were always beautiful to me as a child, but now the bane of my perfect lawn. Thistles also can be a beautiful plant. I was just thinking about what nature (insects, birds, etc, and maybe faeries too) find as beautiful. Cheers!

        • Lorem Ipsum

          No, it didn’t feel like criticism, believe me, at all. I just feel gratified you have responded to the poem the way you have. And I appreciate your input about how nature’s view of what is beautiful might be very different to our own. Thanks, again!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

