Revelation Sickness

Walked a desert mile, this a.m.
A half-swallowed viper
Caught in my
Death Valley throat
Making me gag
Looking for some burning
Saltbush
Behind which to retch and
Dislodge the discomfort
Of entrenched years of
The embittered failure/
Disappointment
Of a would-be hagiographer
Lost under a merciless sky
The skin peeling away from
Beneath my unseeing eyes
And across my
Crucified shoulders
In strips of midrashic law
To be interpreted later
In a time of peace
When the crows should stop
Circling my beaten
And bloodied excuse
For a brain
As all the time
My parched, split
Lips silently beseech
Through darkly-remembered
Prayer that the
Implacable godhead should
Thunder down
Forgiving rain instead of…
This.

About Lorem Ipsum

Just some guy trying to figure out where the "on" switch is hid on the remote control—ah, forget it. Because, you know what, I'm also the kinda guy who always likes the book waaay more than the movie! View all posts by Lorem Ipsum

4 responses to “Revelation Sickness

You must be logged in to post a comment.

